I never watched the show but the title sounded like something I tell myself all the time:

JUST ONE HANDICAP AT A TIME

This really helps to keep me in check.It's a very useful mantra on the month before a marathon. We are peaking, we feel strong and fast, the weather eases up so we feel even better; we feel GREAT and the taper is approaching... this is when most of us mess up.I like to repeat LESS IS MOREBut what is less and what is more? I tell myself THIS IS THE TIME TO BE CONSERVATIVEBut how do I know I am being conservative enough?

Well... enter the new and reformed:

JUST ONE HANDICAP AT A TIME

If it's hot, back off on the pace.
If you're going long, back off on the pace.
If you're doing hills, back off on everything else.
If you're doing speedwork, don't wear the wrong gear.
and so on...

Stats are pretty scary; 6 weeks to 10 days before race day is HOT DANGER CRAZY RED JALAPENO BURNING ZONE.I should know!!!Make sure you don't do too much to hurt yourself and make sure you don't peak too early...  Tape a sign on the door if you have to, deal?PS: Please don't hold me accountable if I do!



Leave a Reply.